About Sarawak


Sarawak, also known as “Land of the Hornbills,” is an East Malaysian state situated on the Island of Borneo. It borders the Malaysian state of Sabah to the northeast, Brunei Darussalam to the north and Indonesia to the west and south. Its total land area of 124,450sq km makes it the largest state in Malaysia, and is home to over 2,500,000 Sarawakians, with its capital, Kuching, having a population of 700,000.

In recent years, it has also become a destination to many companies seeking new economic opportunities. Under the Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy (SCORE) initiative, one of Malaysia’s five economic corridors, Sarawak aims to propel itself to a high-income state status by 2030 through renewable energy. One of the main locations for the SCORE project is the Samalaju Industrial Park, located 60km north of Bintulu.

Sarawak currently records a strong financial performance with an income surplus for several years in a row, which resulted in RM22.0 billion of state reserves at the end of 2013. International rating agency, Moody’s Investors Service upgraded Sarawak state’s issuer rating in March 2012 to “A3 / Stable Outlook” and Standard & Poor maintains its “A- / Stable Outlook “ rating on Sarawak. Both Malaysian rating agencies, RAM Rating Services and Malaysia Rating Corporation Bhd maintain their rating of “AAA / Strong Outlook” on the State.

This reflects the health of the State Government’s finances, its prudent financial management and public accountability.

The following are official State Government and agency websites which should provide you with more information on Sarawak, the State Government and key agencies operating in SCORE.

Quick Facts
Capital: Kuching
Area: 124,450 km2
Population: 2.5 Million
Population Density: 19/km2
Climate: Equatorial / Tropical